365 days in the Green Party

On 25th July 2014 I decided to take the plunge and join the Green Party.

I’ve never looked back!

Little did I know that that decision – based on a few years of voting Green, and a European election where I offered to letterbox some leaflets in my neighbourhood – would result in myself being at the forefront of our General Election 2015 campaign on the Isle of Wight.

10924189_970916039585940_1812637545281883951_o

In the last six months alone I’ve shaken the hands of the directors of island transport companies Wightlink, Red Funnel and Southern Vectis. I’ve been to my first GP Conference in Liverpool and exchanged words with Caroline Lucas MP. I’ve spoken live on the radio several times, been interviewed by the local press and even been on the Sunday Politics TV programme! We’ve stood in island town centres handing out leaflets with the excellent IW Green Party team, and been ably assisted by our Big Green Bus and citroen with a Big Green Surfboard on top. I have spoken and listened to hundreds of residents across the island at our ‘Undecided?’ public meetings. We’ve helped to host fund raising events such as a ceilidh, Green Is Go music evening and 1940s Tea Party. Even after election night I’ve supported the Save Carisbrooke School campaign – and there are even more fights to come to save our libraries and our buses and trains.

It could be a full time job to be a parliamentary candidate (and an ex candidate). Although I already have a job teaching A Levels, and a busy family, in the last 12 months I have been so privileged to work with our local Island Green Party. To think that this time last year I had yet to meet so many of them. I had read this news article , and it had got me thinking, I joined the party and went to meetings – and ended up coming third in the race to be the Island’s MP!

11032443_10155505270480258_532108872_o

So, if you ever think you can’t … you can. This is not the end for me. It’s just the beginning. There is so much to do – for this island, its residents and its green spaces.

If you too would like to join the Green Party – details can be found here .

This entry was posted in Election 2015. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

